Trumpet Discussion Discuss french horn teaching in the General forums; Hi, I'm thinking of applying for trumpet teaching jobs in schools whilst I'm studying trumpet at university, however many schools ...
    New Friend

french horn teaching

I'm thinking of applying for trumpet teaching jobs in schools whilst I'm studying trumpet at university, however many schools also want french horn or other brass instruments taught. Any suggestions as to how to teach another brass instrument that's not your first? (especially considering I'm only a beginner on frech horn)

Re: french horn teaching

Before destroying somebody elses potential future, I would get some first hand, professional lessons instead of internet conjecture. Assuming you are a decent trumpet player, you must realize how easy it is to mess somebodies face up.

Playing horn is a different sound and embouchure concept than trumpet. You also need to be emotionally pretty stable to take the beating that a beginning horn player almost always has to go through!
    Whenever I feel blue, I start breathing again.

I wouldn't recommend teaching ANYTHING that you are less than proficient at yourself.

Greensboro, NC