Trumpet Discussion Discuss Getting Worse? in the General forums; Hello Everyone, I am a freshman in college this fall and have been playing trumpet since I was in the ...
    New Friend

Getting Worse?

Hello Everyone,

I am a freshman in college this fall and have been playing trumpet since I was in the sixth grade. I still practice every day, doing long-tones, scales, clarke exorcises, slurs, and then my etudes.
    About a month ago, I came to the realization that I was using WAY too much pressure. After doing some research on this site and talking to old instructors, I went about trying to reduce MP pressure just by simply paying attention and pulling the horn away from my face (not drastically, just enough to take the pressure away). Instantly my tone got airy, and my range went way down, but I just figured that was to be expected with such a drastic change. I tried applying a tiny bit more pressure in an attempt to ease myself away from it instead, which seemed to work great.
    My concern now though is that after about a month of easing myself away from mp pressure, my playing seems to have gotten MUCH worse. My tone remains extremely fuzzy and shaky and my register is limited to a G above the staff. Could I have done something wrong that is messing up my embouchure? I knew that some pressure was needed to play correctly and I thought I had found the right balance for MP pressure. I was doing my normal routines and could finally feel the muscles in the corners of my embouchure that my directors and lesson teachers always stressed working out. I thought I was doing it all right!

I appreciate any responses! As of now I am declared as a Finance major so am not able to audition for any ensembles until the spring and can't get an appointment with the trumpet professor for a few more weeks. I was REALLY hoping to switch to a Music Education major later this year, but am feel extremely discouraged because of my playing :/

Re: Getting Worse?