Trumpet Discussion Discuss Has anyone experienced this? in the General forums; I started playing the trumpet last September after a 35 years. A Conn 22b made in 1930, the horn sounded ...
    New Friend

Has anyone experienced this?

I started playing the trumpet last September after a 35 years.
    A Conn 22b made in 1930, the horn sounded great my tone and range came back, everythings great.
    Five months ago I purchased a cornet on ebay that I am very happy with,
    it sounds great, it's fun to play. I have been playing the cornet and not the trumpet since the purchase.
    A few weeks ago I picked up my trumpet and now it sounds sour to me.
    I used to have great tone (too me) and now it's sour!
    I suspect that if I put the cornet down and exclusively play the trumpet
    I'll get good tone quality back.
    Anyone experience this?

Fortissimo User

Re: Has anyone experienced this?

Yes - I suspect that we have ALL had this experience. The cornet mouthpiece is likely significantly different from your trumpet MP and, of course, cornets sound somewhat different in any case. So, your lips (and your brain and your ear) have adjusted to the new setup and now the trumpet doesn't sound the same. I have found that by spending a certain amount of practice time on each - not necessarily every day but a couple of times a week, I can stay up with the various instruments and keep them each sounding - more or less given my progress level - in tune and my ear accustomed to the tone.

By the way - when you say that you started after 35 years - does that mean 35 years of thinking about it or restarting 35 years after you last played? Either way, welcome to the "Senior Contingent" of the forum. We all share a lot of insights and experiences.
    Last edited by ComeBackKid; 07-14-2009 at 11:46 AM.
    Come-Back Kid
    - - - - - - - - -
    Selmer Invicta London ('56)
    Olds Recording ('58, '59, '60)
    Olds Super ('51, '63, '66, '67, '68, '69)
    Olds Standard ('46)