Trumpet Discussion Discuss How do I breathe and exhale deeply? in the General forums; Hi. Just some background info first- I've been playing for about 5 1/2 years and I play on a Bach ...
    Nazareth, PA

How do I breathe and exhale deeply?

Hi. Just some background info first- I've been playing for about 5 1/2 years and I play on a Bach Stradivarius with a 3C mouthpiece (not sure of the brand.) For the past 2-3 weeks, during my lessons, my teacher has told me that I "am not taking deep breaths and not filling the horn with enough air." He says that because of this, I am not getting a good, open tone and I am not able to play as well as I could if I could take a deep breath. How do I do this? I tried his suggestions, but they didn't really work (i.e. visualising the belly being filled with air, placing your hand on your stomach while lying down.) Help! This is extremely frustrating!

Pianissimo User
    Try playing while inhaling throught your nose. It well help you identify the right airflow passage to the belly and then you can find it while inhaling through your mouth.

I am not sure you have the whole story. Enough air is critical and you surely are capable of breathing deeply. After you take that deep breath, the most critical moment comes - change from inhale to exhale without tightening the throat or trying to hold the air in. You MUST immediately EXHALE after filling up. Holding the air in or tightening the throat will DESTROY your sound.
    If you have been breathing wrong, have patience, it will take time to break the terrible habit. This is why a good teacher is necessary from day one.

The quality of your sound is not linear to the amount of air that you intake (there will be great debate on this point). The big breath is there to make other factors function properly.