Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss I have to start all over again. in the General forums; After I "tested off" by playing a trumpet concerto, my high school band conductor decided to move me down four ...
    New Friend

I have to start all over again.

After I "tested off" by playing a trumpet concerto, my high school band conductor decided to move me down four chairs because I use too much pressure when I play. This really sucked. I have been playing trumpet for 4 years now and I was looking forward to growing into a lead trumpet that can scream and all of that. This is a BIG step backwards for me. I was second chair playing 1st trumpet music but now I am currently playing 3rd trumpet music.

I had a personal talk with the conductor, and he told me to just work with the mouthpiece for the rest of this winter break. He also told me that in order to get better, I would have to drastically change my embouchure in order to get rid of my reliance on pressure and grow as a trumpeter. He says that he notices that I fatigue very easily and the only way to fix it is to take time to learn how to play without pressure. That being said, he also wants me to challenge up in trumpet chairs early to redeem my position.

As much as I hate being a third trumpet, I don't know if challenging up when i'm JUST relearning how to play the trumpet again is a good idea. I need to get used to playing with no pressure and challenging up would just increase the stress. How long should I wait to challenge up chairs?

Also, I would really appreciate some advice in learning how to rely less on pressure and how to get my range back. This is really frustrating and I want to get out of this "hole" as quick as I can.

Greensboro, NC

Re: I have to start all over again.