Trumpet Discussion Discuss I Need Help Please in the General forums; Ok, first off I want to say i've been playing trumpet for 4 years. The problem I'm having is that ...
    New Friend

Question I Need Help Please

Ok, first off I want to say i've been playing trumpet for 4 years. The problem I'm having is that whenever I play relatively high(an E in staff) w/o much pressure (I personally think I use ALOT to play) I get a growl from my throat (like in my throat) and it hurts. It only happens when I try using Air to play trumpet. It only happens when I DON'T use pressure, and TRY using air. Any Ideas on what it is, and how i could possible fix this? (If you need to know, my bottom lip sometimes goes inside my mouth while playing, and my highest possible note would be a B flat above staff. Lastly, People tell me I tense up sometimes when I play, but I don't feel like I'm tense.) Please Help me, Thank you.

Re: I Need Help Please

you are not alone. Wht you describe is the product of unmonitored playing. Any teacher paying attention picks up on this quickly and slows you down!

Yes, it is tension and can be so much, that internet analysis probably only will make you aware of how much is going wrong.

How do I fix this in lessons? By teaching the student how to breathe. I teach the circle of breath. Put the horn down. Inhale slowly, then exhale slowly. Make sure when you change from in- to exhale, that there is no tension in your throat - only air moving in one direction than the other. We visualize this with a BIG circle. The left side going up is INHALE, the right side going DOWN is exhale. At the top of a circle where we change directions, there is no bump, no corner, only a smooth and infinitely small point where we change directions. At the bottom, the same. Just practice breathing like this. DO NOT PUSH THE AIR OUT FORCEFULLY. Stay open and just let it flow.