Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss I need stronger chops!! in the General forums; Hey everybody, I am a freshman in high school and I have a serious issue with my chops.... My band ...
    New Friend

I need stronger chops!!

Hey everybody, I am a freshman in high school and I have a serious issue with my chops....

My band director chose a original piece for marching band and I have to hold a high E for about 12 beats and immediately to a solo during our second movement.

I have been very good in the past year and went to the Kentucky honor concert band and was 6th chair and at the Northern Kentucky jazz festival, i was first chair.

But I cant do it without the equipment, anybody have any chop saver tips?

Or anybody selling a really tight mouthpiece cheap?

Moderator Utimate User Solar Bell's Avatar
    Metro Detroit

Re: I need stronger chops!!

If you are a freshman (9th grade?) and you are playing in the KY Honors band and in the Jazz Festival you are on the right track.

At your age, 13? 14? you are doing alright.

A new "tighter mouthpiece" is not the answer.

Are you talking about an E above high C? Three ledger lines up?

And what does twelve beats mean? WHat is the tempo? How many seconds do you have to hold it.

Need more infomation, and you need to realize that without seeing you play in person, we will not be able to help you here.

Some guys will tell you to a get a screamer mouthpiece...that won't work.

Some people will tell you to get a Schilke 14A4a mouthpice which is a lead ain't.

Some people will tell you to practice those high note very softly.

Some people will tell you to play those notes as loud as you can to build endurance.

Some people will tell to to practice slurs....quietly or....loudly.

Some people will tell you to play long tones.

I think you need to find the best private teacher you can and let him have at you.

Anyone else want to add something not here?
    Chuck Willard
    The Willard of Oz