Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By tobylou8
  • 1 Post By coolerdave
  • 1 Post By rowuk
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Intonation on bach b flat strad 37 in the General forums; Hi all.. I have recently returned to playing after a long break and have been thoroughly enjoying my new bach ...
    New Friend

Intonation on bach b flat strad 37

Hi all..
    I have recently returned to playing after a long break and have been thoroughly enjoying my new bach strad 37. The first time I have owned a bach.
    The other day I started playing with some other instruments and found that I am playing very sharp.
    To get the intonation sitting well I am having to pull the tuning slide out much further than I have with any of the other trumpets
    I have owned in the past (about twice as far - almost an inch verses about half an inch with the other horns)
    As I am getting my chops back after a long break and have a weak embouchure is this purely operator error or is this extension on the tuning slide something in line with the bach's and the lead pipe etc? I welcome some well needed advice!

Re: Intonation on bach b flat strad 37

It could be OE, but the slide does pull out as much as 3 inches for a reason. I had a guy tell me I was pulling my slide out too far and that I was always flat. Well, I have perfect pitch and knew I was close, so I got a tuner out and guess what, I was on the money and he was incredibly sharp! He mumbled something and then kept on playing without adjusting his slide. The only way to know for sure is to get a tuner and see where you are. Eventually you may find that you pull the slide out less as you develop. Pinching to play high can make you play sharp. Welcome back and enjoy the ride here at TM.
    Vulgano Brother likes this.
    Knowledge is freedom, and ignorance is slavery - Miles Davis

The difference between a beginner and pro mouthpiece is practice - tobylou8

Nobody has learned how to play the trumpet. It's endless. - Maynard Ferguson