Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Dennis78
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Just Curious in the General forums; This is one of those questions I should probably apologize for in advance: I'm new to the trumpet (sax player) ...
    New Friend

Just Curious

This is one of those questions I should probably apologize for in advance:

I'm new to the trumpet (sax player) and playing for maybe two months now. I have a Gtezen Severinsen Eterna from the early 70s in great shape that I had serviced by a professional tech. Recently, I picked up a 1952 Blessing Standard from a guy on Craigslist for $50. It's in nice shape too. Anyway, using the same mouthpiece (Bach Artisan 5C) I find it easier to play the Blessing than the Getzen. I can't describe it like you guys can, but it just blows more easily for me.

Maybe it's my imagination. I'm hoping someone knows these horns well enough to offer a possible explanation. Thanks!

Re: Just Curious

The best explanation is that it's just a combination of factors that go together to create better efficiency in one over the other, or it could be that you are just getting better feedback from one over the other.
    Patrick Gleason

"What we do in life echoes in eternity"
    "At my signal, unleash hell."
    - Maximus Decimus Meridius

All horns play different, and horn mouthpiece combinations make a lot difference
    gordonfurr1 likes this.
    Mainly a 1958 Holton B47 Symphony for band
    and a Bach cr310 for Brass band

North Carolina

And sometimes the same instrument model from the same manufacturer plays differently...actually probably more than "sometimes".
    The variation in the build quality of instruments is great enough in many cases that the result is noticeably different.