Trumpet Discussion Discuss The late Delbert Dale and his take on embouchure in the General forums; Hey all, I just wanted to share this with you as it relates to the importance of having a qualified ...
    Pianissimo User

The late Delbert Dale and his take on my embouchure

Hey all, I just wanted to share this with you as it relates to the importance of having a qualified teacher in one's life during one's developmental stage and into advanced playing.

I started playing in fifth grade. I played organ since second grade and had already learned the fundamentals of basic music so playing the trumpet had a bit of a jump start, music-wise.

As a cocky little kid I excelled in elementary band and was even spoiled enough to get a bach strad 37 by 6th grade. Now, times were different then and my parents were hardly rich but I'm sure that horn cost more than average for them in '76.

Anyway, to the point of my post -- despite the fact that I was carrying the first trumpet roles and such at my childhood level at the time, I was not playing correctly and, if left unchecked, would have likely comprimised my potential to the point of ultimate failure. Teachers at my elementary level addressed breathing from the diahprahm, minumum pressure, etc., but did not directly address embouchure. Probably because I was making nice sounding notes within the range I was playing at the time.

Entering my freshman year of high school, I began studying with, in my opinion, one of the greatest teachers at the time for aspiring youngsters, Delbert Dale, who immediately saw an issue particular to me that needed correction. In his opinion, I was playing with too little upper lip and moving the mouthpiece around too much through octaves. He said with my method of playing I'd hit roadblocks that would not let me excel.