Trumpet Discussion Discuss Losing my range, blowing out my lips or something in the General forums; I came into band camp believing I could hit a high C consistently, and I did that everyday of band ...
    New Friend

Losing my range, blowing out my lips or something

I came into band camp believing I could hit a high C consistently, and I did that everyday of band camp. My range was getting better and so was my tone. My band instructor put my as second chair .

But then marching season came around and I just lost it. Everything that I worked hard for, my range, my consistency, and my tone, all gone. I couldn't play any of my music and had to play it down the octave, even though i played the same part effortlessly during band camp. I'm fine when it comes to playing below Middle C, but higher than that i sound weak and terrible. My attacks are weak also.

I've been trying to figure out why i've been playing so badly for the past week. I started practicing more, but that didn't help.

I NEED help. I need to know what i'm doing wrong and how to fix it.

Here are some more details I can supply:

• I recently changed mouthpieces from a Bach 7C to 3C, but my problems started happening before that.
    • School has been really busy for me lately.
    • Some of my teachers suggested that I put too much pressure on my lips
    • Others suggest that i'm having growing pains and that i'm going through a tough transition from playing second trumpet parts into lead trumpet.
    • My trumpet teacher thinks i need a new mouthpiece because my lips are relatively big. He thinks i need a mariachi mouthpiece.
    • He also believes I put my mouthpiece too low on my lips
    What's most confusing to me is that I've hit all of those high notes before and done it effortlessly. Why am I suddenly losing all of my abilities? I'm really stressed out and i want to keep my chair position, but I don't think i can.

Please help!
    Last edited by thaibo93; 10-06-2009 at 11:23 PM.