Trumpet Discussion Discuss misinterpreted my directors instructions in the General forums; When I was a freshman in high school probably (i'm a junior now) my directors used to always say open ...
    Pianissimo User

misinterpreted my directors instructions

When I was a freshman in high school probably (i'm a junior now) my directors used to always say open up, but they never said how to do it. I always assumed they meant my mouth so now when I play I kind of plant my top lip on my mouthpiece before I set my bottom lip on, therefore playing with my lips 'open' and somewhat apart. It provides an good open sound for me, but will it cause any serious problems down the road? I have already gotten an embochure change, I used to play with the inside of my lip a little (don't ask how I did it) but I wanted an embochure change because I wasn't consistent enough and plus it was causing problems. Now I still play a little offcenter, but my lips are further apart when I play than most people. I can't buzz without my mouthpiece for example.

Here are some of my videos of me playing, as you can see my sound is full (what does that even mean, a full sound? i sound a little better in real life, the camera wasn't meant for this)

[ame=]YouTube - Sarabande[/ame] (the beginning is embarassing)
    [ame=]YouTube - Avon High School Jazz 1 (1)[/ame] (lead trumpet)
    [ame=]YouTube - Avon High School Jazz 1 (3)[/ame] (again, lead trumpet. a D is my top note, so it lacks support and is therefore flat. I am not the soloist, I'm the curly haired kid)

Forte User
    Indianapolis, In

Re: misinterpreted my directors instructions

The best advice anyone here can give you is to find a competent private teacher and do what you are told. I think maybe I hear some other problems and we can't help you with embouchure when we can't work with you. No one here can really help without seeing you and hearing you without having to deal with a recording and possibly poor microphone placement.