Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Mouthpiece Buzzing Oddities in the General forums; Hey guys, Ever since I started playing my generic Chinese brand trumpet in 6th grade I buzzed in my mouthpiece ...
    New Friend

Mouthpiece Buzzing Oddities

Hey guys,
    Ever since I started playing my generic Chinese brand trumpet in 6th grade I buzzed in my mouthpiece in what you could call an "odd" manner - instead of buzzing right in the center I buzz right on the very top of the mouthpiece to where my bottom lip gets the most vibrations. This has never affected my tone, to be honest it was better than most if not all of the trumpet players in my school at that time. However, whenever it got to music where I had to breathe a lot due to the difficulty or length of my music (I also didn't know how to circle breathe at the time) I realized that I had to buzz at a very specific spot or else it would affect my air flow. I recently attempted to buzz at the very center where it's supposed to be, but I guess due to the size of my lips I sounded like I was in 6th grade all over again. So my question is: Are there any practices for central buzzing with larger lips, or should I just stick to my normal method?

Re: Mouthpiece Buzzing Oddities

Wow.......interesting problem. I don't think I've ever heard or seen something like this.

I think you're just going to have to practice playing it "where it's supposed to be".

There are mouthpieces out there that require the player to play with mostly the lower lip (Asymmetric mouthpieces by John Lynch). I personally hated them, but that's just me...maybe you should try one out.?

Hope this helps,
    1914 Holton Revelation Cornet
    1929 Stroud Baby Grand Piano
    1950's Hammond M3 Organ

Moderator Utimate User Vulgano Brother's Avatar
    Parts Unknown

My advice would be just to play and let your body teach itself.
    "A tool good enough to be so used and not too good"
    C.S. Lewis That Hideous Strength

New Friend