Trumpet Discussion Discuss My First Bath in the General forums; Hello TM members! I'm getting ready for my very first bath, that is, my first trumpet bath. I've never done ...

My First Bath

Hello TM members!
    I'm getting ready for my very first bath, that is, my first trumpet bath. I've never done this before. I read the following article online and was wondering if you guys could take a peek at the article and let me know if it's sound advice. Many thanks!

[top]Bathing the Trumpet

Begin by removing the 3 valves and setting them aside (this is the only component of the trumpet that will NOT be immersed in the bathtub as it could cause corrosion to the springs and felt). Then remove all other slides and caps from the horn, including the first, second and third valve slides, tuning slide, mouthpiece, and the three caps on the bottom of the valve casings. Some third valve slides have 2 movable parts and in this case they should be taken apart and placed in the water separately. Place a washcloth or small towel on the bottom of a clean tub (to prevent the instrument from being scratched) and fill the tub1/3 of the way (or until the bell of the horn is covered) with lukewarm water and a little bit of dishwashing liquid. Lay all the parts of the horn on the cloth in the tub and let soak for 10-15 minutes. While the horn is soaking take the valves and set them upright in a drinking glass with about 2/3 water and 1/3 vinegar. Fill the glass only as high as the springs on the sides of the valves and be careful not to get the felt around the top of the valve wet.