Trumpet Discussion Discuss My throat... in the General forums; A problem I've had since I started playing, and should've addressed many years ago, is that as I begin to ...
    New Friend

My throat...

A problem I've had since I started playing, and should've addressed many years ago, is that as I begin to ascend in range, my throat has a tendancy to close up. While it was always an issue, I want to correct it now as I begin a more serious adventure with my horn.

What exercises can I do to get me out of this habit.

New Friend
    Houston, Texas

Re: My throat...

One exercise I use when I have the same problem is to tilt my head back, open my mouth as wide as I can and inhale/exhale slowly. While doing this feel how open the throat is and then try playing again while focusing on maintaining the open feeling in the throat. This exercise worked wonders for me. I hope it helps you as well.

Bb: Bach 37 Raw Brass
    C: Bach 239 Raw Brass
    Eb/D: Yamaha 9610 Silver
    Flugelhorn: Yamaha YFH 731 Silver

Columbus, Ohio

Think of smelling a Rose ... that sensation in yout throat is what you want to maintain.

Russell Dixon
    Yamaha YTR-8340EM Custom Trumpet
    Monette Prana (LT) BL-2J mouthpieces

This is stuff for a good teacher. Your "throat" cannot actually "close" but all the muscles can become very tense and your vocal chords can be very uncooperative.
    Playing tense usually means you are moving too quickly. Slow down!

Exhale through the mouth until you have run out of air, inhale deeply through the nose and immediately exhalethrough the mouth without holding the air in. Practice this without the horn until it works then replace the second exhale with play without tonguing. Critical is NOT HOLDING THE AIR IN!!! Play long tones this way until they reliably speak. Tonguing comes after you master relaxed sound production.
    Get a good teacher - they need to keep an eye on your body use too!
    Whenever I feel blue, I start breathing again.

Utimate User