Trumpet Discussion Discuss Newbie - Need to blow hard for good tone in the General forums; Hello all trumpet masters, I just rented a Holton T602P student trumpet. I'm returning to the trumpet after 35+ years ...
    New Friend

Newbie - Need to blow hard for good tone

Hello all trumpet masters,

I just rented a Holton T602P student trumpet. I'm returning to the trumpet after 35+ years (actually, I played a cornet). It has some issues, I believe, but because I'm a newbie I can't be sure if it's me or the instrument. It does have a very hard to move main tuning slide, which is not a huge issue. But what is bothering me is it seems that I have to blow really hard and play really loud to get a decent tone. I rented a Yamaha student (not sure of model now) last year and only played it for a few weeks, but I remember being able to play more softly, yet still have a relatively decent tone (considering my "beginner" status).

My related questions are:

* Is the inability to play soft me as a newbie or could it also be the trumpet?

* I've read conflicting reports on using vaseline to grease the slide - is that OK?

Additional questions:

* Would you recommend playing on a student rental for 6 months or more before looking into buying a trumpet?

* And the really stupid question: I plan on playing with an amateur concert band starting in September. I never realized that there were different trumpet keys before - do I need to get a C trumpet or is the Bflat just fine (I only thought there was Bflat)

* What about a cornet? Yes or no?

Thanks for any and all advice!

Bostonish & San Francisco

Re: Newbie - Need to blow hard for good tone

I would second the scrounging ebay option, I've never done it for a horn, but whatever you get will probably be better and (if your local store is anything like mine) cheaper than a rental
    Bb: Courtois 305 "Elite", Holton Al Hirt Special (~1966), Benge 3x with Upturned bell (1973)
    C: Bach C180-239 (Akwright conversion),