Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Over my head? in the General forums; I have played lead in a community band for going on 11 years or so now, and am looking to ...
    Pianissimo User

Over my head?

I have played lead in a community band for going on 11 years or so now, and am looking to improve my playing (and maybe work with a better band). I have an opportunity (passed on to me by my teacher, who is a top call local pro, but also to whom I am a new student) to try for a chair in another local big band which is replacing some section players. I checked out their website, which shows the previous personnel, and the drummer was formerly the drummer for the Boss Brass , the lead player is a pro with all sorts of recordings, the 3rd player is the trumpet player from the Bare Naked Ladies , and the 4th player is a rising star who also has multiple recordings with some local heavy hitters.

Needless to say my nerves are getting the better of me and I am looking for advice as to whether I should go for this or am I just too far out of my league, since I would be the least skilled player by far in the section.

Opinions and slaps 'upside the head' welcome.
    Dave M.
    Richmond Hill (Toronto), Ontario, CANADA

Kanstul WB1600
    1952 L.A. Olds Recording, 1975 L.A. Benge 3x, Yamaha 631 Flugel, Olds Flugel

GR 65.6 Mouthpieces

Fortissimo User
    What have you got to lose? (besides a little "face")? If your teacher thinks you can handle it (even IF it means a few extra hours of practice each week) then you must be capable. Put yourself in his shoes for a moment .... would you take a chance on damaging your own reputation by recommending someone who you knew "couldn't cut the mustard"?

Think how fast you'll progress playing with a higher level group. Same as "taking a chance" and going to a workshop or masters class when you think you "might" be "out of your league".