Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Personal experiences in the General forums; As one can feel some interest for added mass devices and there is a lot of theoretical knowledge floating around, ...

Personal experiences

As one can feel some interest for added mass devices
    and there is a lot of theoretical knowledge floating around,
    it would be very interesting to hear from you that have actually tried
    some of these devices.

I am talking about valve caps, sound sleeves, heavy top mp,
    and other reversible items mounted on a “normal weight” trumpet .

What are your personal experiences?

(We can make another thread for the heavy equipment like Monette, Taylor)
    If you can not stand up as a good role model, please sit down!

Chicago Custom X-VR Lead

BrassNor Alexander Custom cornet
    BrassNor Versatile Bb Custom trumpet

Forte User

Re: Personal experiences

This is a VERY interresting thread, Nordlands!

I have no such experience myself, but it
    will be interresting to hear the answers
    about how tone, slotting, intonation and
    more has improved or changed with these
    added items!
    Last edited by Sofus; 08-22-2009 at 12:50 PM.

I have some heavy weight valve caps for my Schilke, but I stopped using them because I preferred the feel of the horn without them.
    I use a heavyweight trumpet and cornet mouthpiece and love the way they feel.
    After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music. ~Aldous Huxley
    If at first you don't succeed, keep on suckin' until you do suck-a-seed. ~ Clark Terry

Trumpet Maker

Pianissimo User
    Hertfordshire, UK

I have a Kelly soundsleeve that I use quite regularly. I bought it to try it and see what it did and to be completely honest I can't see that it made any difference whatsoever altho other people I've played with have said it's made an improvement to my sound but not really offered any explanation as to how...

Nick Jolly