Trumpet Discussion Discuss Playing 1 " tuning slide sharp in the General forums; I was wondering if any other players ever had a problem with consistent sharp playing. I've been playing since 5th ...

Playing 1 " tuning slide sharp

I was wondering if any other players ever had a problem with consistent sharp playing. I've been playing since 5th grade -now 55, and I have always had to pull the tuning slide out about an inch or so to match the rest of the band. Yes, I have an unusual embassure- 2/3 mouthpiece on top lip. I've tried severl times to change (when I was younger), with help from some of the best trumpet instructors in the state, but to no avail. I've played fairly good most of my life -2nd chair in two college jazz bands (A level bands). But when it comes to tuning, my slide is never out just the the 3/16 inch that is the "textbook" starting point.

Anyone else have this issue or found ways to correct it?

Olds Super 1946
    Olds Super 1962
    Bach Strad 1967
    Bach Strad 1970

Re: Playing 1 " tuning slide sharp

If your tone is fine, then there is no need to change your embouchure. Some people, like me and you, naturally play sharp. In fact, some people's ears are tuned to sharp, so even if they pull out the slide very far, they will pull it a couple of cents sharp. All of these are minor "problems" that you don't have to worry about, especially considering that you've managed to be succesful.

I find it surprising that most people you play with pull the tuning slide out at the "textbook" starting point. My teacher and I have it pulled out at different lengths when we play together, and neither of the lengths is the "textbook" length. After all, there is a reason why the tuning slide is adjustable, right? We all have different playing characteristics.