Trumpet Discussion Discuss Playing Flute and trumpet/flugelhorn? in the General forums; Greetings, I have returned to trumpet/flugelhorn after a few years lay off, I have been playing Flute during this period, ...
    New Friend
    Dartford, Kent, UK.

Playing Flute and trumpet/flugelhorn?

I have returned to trumpet/flugelhorn after a few years lay off,
    I have been playing Flute during this period, and wonder if anyone has
    any experience playing both instruments,regarding embouchure problems.
    regards John.

Blaine, ME
    As a teacher I have never come across a problem with people who play both instruments. The thing I usually come across who flute players really have trouble learning trumpet and trumpet players have a lot of trouble on flute. I have tlaked with many who are good at both but this is a common issue I see. I have worked my tail off on flute and have taken many private lessons and I can still only make a sound on like 3 notes on a good I can do all the fingerings but making a sound is not easy. Most of my trumpet playing friends are the same. That's my experiences at least:)
    Adam W. Metzler

M.S.A.D. #42
    Black Bear Web Design
    Maine Trumpet - Discuss all things Maine!

Moderator Utimate User Solar Bell's Avatar
    Metro Detroit
    I'm not 100% sure, but I belive Noel Langley in London plays both trumpets and flute.

Chuck Willard
    The Willard of Oz

"Don't be afraid to see what you see."
    Ronald Reagan

Saint Paul, MN
    I have known a couple that could do that double. Me I can't even get a sound out of the d***ed thing.
    Per aspera ad astra

Fortissimo User
    Yee HAW!
    There was a guy who used to post several years ago out of San Diego... an acquaintance of Flip Oakes' I believe... who played semi-pro on both instruments. I "think" he gave up trumpet to concentrate on flute but not certain. Anyway, it seemed to work for him.

Mezzo Piano User trumpet blower88's Avatar
    Flagstaff, AZ