Hi guys,

I'm doing a recital diploma on Wednesday which I need to do some notes for. I wasn't really sure how detailed or whatever they needed to be, but I've done this so far.

Any feedback would be appreciated as I've never done this before!!

Concert Etude - Alexander Goedicke (1877 –1957)

Alexander Goedicke was a Russian composer, conductor, pianist and organist. He studied at the Moscow Conservatoire before going on to have a career as a successful concert pianist. This Concert Etude for trumpet and piano is a much loved showcase of various techniques, most notably double tonguing.

There are two distinct themes, the first of which opens the piece in a furious and frantic G minor. The second theme first occurs in the relative major, Bb major, at bar 48 and is marked cantabile – contrasting in tonality and texture with the first theme. The first subject briefly reoccurs in the tonic before spinning off into various other keys, which are outlined in double-tongued chords on the trumpet. It then settles in the tonic major (G major) where the second theme is recapitulated. This is followed by a brief recap of the first theme in the tonic, and a coda, which both accelerates and diminuendos to a pp, finishes the work.

Sonatina for Trumpet (1973) – Sergiu Natra (1924 - )

I. Molto Adagio
II. Presto Assai
III. Senza Misura ad Libitum

Natra was born in Rumania, later settling in Israel in 1961. This work was commissioned by the National Council for Culture and Art as the sight reading section for a competition for young trumpet players. However, it was also conceived as a work suitable for concert performance. Natra notes that the performer may take certain liberties with the work, including rearranging the internal order of movements. I have elected to perform the work as written on a Bb trumpet, rather than at concert pitch, and have selected only the first three movements.