Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Quality of Horn Related to Skills in the General forums; I've been lurking for a while and haven't had much time to post but there's something that I've been pondering ...
    Piano User

Quality of Horn Related to Skills

I've been lurking for a while and haven't had much time to post but there's something that I've been pondering for quite a while.

Do you think that the quality of horn that a person has is, or should be, related to the skill level of that person. In other words, can a really good player justify having a more expensive/better horn than someone with lesser playing skills?

I think everyone knows what I'm talking about. The 7th grade beginning student with a brand new Bach or the hack in community band with a Monette. Of course there are many variations on this and examples for the opposite (pros playing beaters and 50 year old horns).

I'm a college student and want a new horn -- something better, something different than my Bach (no, I'm not a Bach hater -- yes, my Bach is a good horn). I want to stand out. I'm tired of being one of the thousands of students playing a carbon copy horn; however, I'm afraid my playing level doesn't warrant anything other than what I've got. I'm decent, but I'll never play professionally.

Could you, or do you, get away with playing a top shelf horn in an amateur setting? What kind of reaction did you first get? Any jealousy from the other players? What do you pros think about this?

Thanks!

Matt
    (aka mafields627 on TH)
    --Matt--

There's some discussion going on here: http://www.trumpetmaster.com/forums/...t=1415&start=0 which is relevant to this question I think.