Trumpet Discussion Discuss Question to Local 357 - Forward/Receded Jaw Setting in the General forums; Local 357, I tried to PM you, but trumpetmaster said you've elected not to receive PMs. I've read a quite ...
    New Friend

Question to Local 357 - Forward/Receded Jaw Setting

Local 357,

I tried to PM you, but trumpetmaster said you've elected not to receive PMs.

I've read a quite a few of your posts and have gotten a lot out of them, and was wondering if I could bug you to get your thoughts. Your posts have been so helpful that I'd be willing to pay you at whatever your normal lesson rate is for your time (feel free to PM me for this).

I'm not a professional, but am a dedicated commercial/jazz player (with a day job). I'm 34-year-old comeback player (quit in my early 20's and started again a couple years ago) and practice about 8-12 hours a week. My range always topped at about a high D or C (two ledgers above the staff), which is the same range I'd had since I was about 13 years old.

I've been working daily over the past two years to increase range, and have increased my power in my existing range significantly, but only increased my actual playable range to about a high E or F (and I only can hit that about 60% of the time).

I've tried the Maggio System (which helped), The Balanced Embrouchure (which made me want to throw my trumpet against the wall, and didn't help at all), and recently The Real Way to Play the Cat Anderson Trumpet Method (verdict not in on this yet).

I'm a receded-jaw player, and the only way I've been able to increase my range (in addition to Maynard's/Shew's yoga breath) is by allowing my bottom lip to recede significantly under my upper lip (an idea which I think I got from one of your posts), which brings the angle of my horn down dramatically.