Trumpet Discussion Discuss "Range connection" skills in the General forums; I'm an amature self-taught adult trumpeter and starting a year ago I could hardly blow the second line G. Over ...
    Pianissimo User

"Range connection" skills

I'm an amature self-taught adult trumpeter and starting a year ago I could hardly blow the second line G. Over a year of regular practice, mostly with the MP only I now can hit and hold the staff-top G on the trumpet and the middle C is quite usable now.

I notice that I can set my embouchure for a certain sub-range, of maybe an octave, maybe fifth and be able to control the sound within that range but it's hard to cover the whole range with one emouchure setting.

What skills do I need to acquire and what types of exercises should I practice to feel myself comfortable from the low C up to G an octave and a fifth higher? This is what I think could be called "range connection" skills.
    I'll appreciate practical examples of the exercises and drills.

Franklin, TN

Re: "Range connection" skills

Caruso Method exercises would really help you out there. I found this transcript from a guy that studied with him. A really good read with even more suggestions.

Carmine Caruso - the master teacher
    one that works with his hands - laborer
    one that works with hands and head - craftsman
    one that works with hands, head and heart - artist

Forte User
    Clarksburg, WV

Doing lip slurs.
    Make sure they are soft, clean (not smeary or blatty) and go as low and as high as you can.
    Pick a valve (they are 7 combinations) and slur quietly and delicately for a minute. The combinations are:
    Just a minute on each valve every day will make you a stronger player. Most people do these slur in quarter or 8th notes
    Also, read Mouthpiece Pressure Assessment. Make sure you are not applying a lot of pressure when you go up and reducing the pressure when you go down.
    As for breathing: