Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Rating yourself in the General forums; I have heard people on here say that they are "intermediate" or "beginning" and I was wondering how they came ...
    New Friend

Rating yourself

I have heard people on here say that they are "intermediate" or "beginning" and I was wondering how they came up with this rating. Is there a way you can actually rate yourself to find out if you are beginning, intermediate, or advanced? Or is this a rating based on how they think they play or other people have told them they play?

Forte User
    I am being realistic when I rate myself as intermediate. I have been playing on the local scene in Indy since 1981 for part time money in local big bands, clown band and church jobs. I can hold down the first part in any community band around here but do know quite a few local guys who can play circles around me. A few years ago a group of local players were discussing the local scene and when my name was brought up it was said I was the best third trumpet player in any big band around. I am not a lead player, never had the desire but I blend in any group, play in tune and can sight read decently. I do believe that the older I get, even though I am loosing range, I am playing more musically [ is that a word]. I have met quite a few hot shots that hit the scene but got just a few call backs because they were trying to impress everyone by how high and/or how loud they could play. Mean while us old dogs kept getting the jobs because we just played as part of a section. About 8 years ago I started turning down jobs, changed my life style, and now only play in one big band and church mostly, besides my quintet and one community band. I guess what I am trying to say is that your true rating is not your technical ability but how you play in a group. Does any of this make sense? Dave
    formerly known as old geezer Dave
    Chicago Benge 33XX
    Blessing 1580 [ Powell modified ]