Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Recently restarted trumpet lessons in the General forums; Hey guys, I started playing the trumpet when I was 12, done it for a few years then gave up, ...
    New Friend

Recently restarted trumpet lessons

Hey guys,

I started playing the trumpet when I was 12, done it for a few years then gave up, however, I've started lessons after an 8 year gap of not touching it, I've had lessons for about two months, but I've been having some problems:

I find that the tone of the notes isnt very good, or very 'musical', is this something that will just improve its time?
    To hit higher notes I seem to be pressing the trumpet against my face which results in the notes sounding 'squeezed' out and after about 20 minutes of playing I have a very noticeable mark on my lips where the mouthpiece is
    My tutor also talks about how my tongue placement needs to change when playing different notes etc, yet I have a bad habit of just keeping mine at the roof of my mouth.
    Finally, my air capacity seems to be quite poor as well, I've heard a spirometer can help increase it, but I'm not entirely sure

I'd appreciate any advice I can get on this, I've been getting rather frustrated that I'm not improving as quickly as I'd like to

Fortissimo User
    Greenfield WI

Re: Recently restarted trumpet lessons

I personally think this tongue level stuff is a load of crap. For the rest of it... playing a trumpet takes YEARS. You need to practice every day, and practice well. Pay attention to your tone, and for range... try a little each day to extend it. You must not force a higher range or you will not only never get it... the rest of your range will suffer.

I know it's boring, but playing the same "easy" exercises day after day will help you improve... if you work hard to keep a good sound and work to use the least amount of effort to make the notes sound good.

Buescher Lightweight 400
    Other Buescher horns 1939--1955