Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Routines for Higher notes? in the General forums; I am looking for some ideas as to a good warm-up, practice, and warm-down that will help build my upper ...
    New Friend

Routines for Higher notes?

I am looking for some ideas as to a good warm-up, practice, and warm-down that will help build my upper register, I can currently play an E above the C above staff solid, but the F is squeaky. I have talked to a trumpet player names Jari Vallanueva, and he recommended Max Schlossberg's 'Daily Drills & Technical Studies for trumpet. I was also hoping for some other exercises that will build my upper register, yet help not affect my lower register.

P.S. Right now I am a freshman in high school if that makes a difference.

Bostonish & San Francisco

Re: Routines for Higher notes?

Practice (lots of it)
    schlossberg is a good book
    long tones can help
    caruso exercises

overall, range just eventually develops, The idea is to be able to play comfortably up there, so one thing that helped me was playing up there more (if you have the clarke technical exercises, play the high ones)
    Bb: Courtois 305 "Elite", Holton Al Hirt Special (~1966), Benge 3x with Upturned bell (1973)
    C: Bach C180-239 (Akwright conversion),
    Cornet: Conn Wonder (1900)
    Picc: Selmer Paris, ~1971

L.A./Orange County CA

James Stamp has expanded my range, but like any exercise, in order to get results you have to make sure you are doing it correctly. I used to play a lot of high note exercises but got nowhere. But with proper guidance, practice and knowledge I was able to overcome my range difficulties.
    Drake F. Peterson

The Cat Anderson Trumpet Method is available online as a PDF. You can print out the whole thing or individual sections. Emphasizes holding long notes, then arpeggios. Some of the exercises are playing the same note for minutes at a time.