Need some help deciding whether or not to devote my time to learning how to play a lead mouthpiece.
Background Info about me(optional reading):
I started playing on a 1 Megatone back in 95 when I was a junior in high school. I fell into the bigger is better syndrome and went over board. I joined the army in 96. I played that piece until 98 when I was convinced to drill it out by a teacher I had. I had a great sound but no endurance and no consistent range. I managed to squeak out high f#. Later on in 2001 when I was required to play lead in a big band and rock band. I began experimenting with tons of shallower mouthpieces. (Check out HUGE MOUTHPIECE SALE!!! In the marketplace.) I forced myself to learn how to play medium shallow mouthpieces. I then played a GR67M for a number of years and later switched to a Curry 1M based off of my current teachers recommendation.
I currently play on a Curry 1M for just about everything. As an Army Bandsman I am required to play a variety of styles. Unfortunately, while everyone tells me I get a good sound on my Curry and my intonation is good, I am still not happy with the piece. It is not dark enough for me for the legit auditions I am required to take and it is not efficient enough to play lead all night with or get that real sizzling sound I am looking for.
I have finally decided to start practicing for the gigs that I want to play and not necessarily what the Army wants. I want to lean more toward the commercial side of the house. I want to play lead in big bands and Salsa bands. I am also very interested in Jazz. This led me to another mouthpiece safari which introduced me to the Marcinkiewicz Bob Findley mouthpiece. While the rim was too small for me, I loved how efficient the mouthpiece was. My range seemed closer together.