Trumpet Discussion Discuss Sigmund Herring? in the General forums; I have a few of the etude books written by Mr. Herring. He put out many studies but I hardly ...
    Piano User

Sigmund Herring?

I have a few of the etude books written by Mr. Herring.

He put out many studies but I hardly hear his name mentioned on these forums.

I have a book by Bill Knevitt in which he advocates using these studies as endurance studies by repeating the 8 bar sections many times.

Has anyone on this forum ever studied with Mr. Herring or someone who studied with him? What was his teaching style? Any particular recomendations on how to get the most out of the books? His books really do not have any suggestions on how to best use them.

Utimate User
    ( Cue Flintstones music)

W-i-i-i-i-lme-r-r-r-r !!!

Help is on the way

Piano User
    great books! least they helped me!

Artitst in Residence
    Fortissimo User
    Mr Hering was a music teacher. I studied with Sigmund Hering during my high school years.

All his students worked from his books. He used etude books to develop the student's trumpet skills.

Mr Hering's students were well schooled in transposition, sight-reading and orchestral repertoire. I played thru Clarke and Schlossberg with Mr Hering.

Sigmund Hering was a gifted musician. He graduated Curtis with Majors in Trumpet and Double Bass. He was a skilled pianist. He accompanied me in the Haydn and many other works.

I played some of Mr Hering's books before the reached the publisher, Carl Fischer.

Mr Hering never played at lessons.

Be sure Brain is engaged before putting Mouthpiece in gear.
    S.Suark 1951

Pianissimo User
    Lake Jackson, TX USA