Trumpet Discussion Discuss Single tonguing speed ? in the General forums; what tempo should i set my goal to tongue 16ths single tonguing ? and with staccatos...
    New Friend

Single tonguing speed ?

what tempo should i set my goal to tongue 16ths single tonguing ?
    and with staccatos

Forte User
    Near Portland, OR.

Re: Single tonguing speed ?

It's a work in progress (hopefully) but right now I do a decent job on the 2nd Clarke study, with no more than 4 # or bs in the signature, at 120. I'm just an amateur, back in the groove since last August.

So I'd say 120 would be a good goal to start with. I know that when I have them all (including that darn low B natural) sounding good at that speed in single tounguing, I will definitely concentrate on double tonguing. Dunno if it will ever happen though.

As always, you should go by your sensations. I was told it should go like this:
    Try out some relatively difficult successions of fingerings, single tongue as fast as you can and note where the quality of the articulation starts to degrade. Get a good 15 to 20 beats below that and practice for absolute perfection. When you have it, increase the speed a whole bunch, up to 10 beats/min. Where the flaws will happen is where you need more work. Go back to the slow speed and insist on these areas of uneasiness until they are just as easy as the rest. In theory, when that happen you should be able to speed up your single tonguing to a point that's almost ridiculous. Or so I heard

Selmer Radial, Bb.
    Yamaha YTR4420E, C.
    1930 Couesnon cornet

A mind that masters the breath
    Creates strength (Lao-Tzu).

It is different for many players depending on what they play.

What I have discovered for the type of playing that I do: up to 144 beats for single tonguing and down to 100 beats for double tonguing. Then there is a safety overlap.