Results 1 to 6 of 6
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Ska? Any Opinions? in the General forums; I'm just getting into liking ska. I wasn't into it when it was really popular, well because I was about ...
  1. #1
    New Friend LindsayMae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009

    Ska? Any Opinions?

    I'm just getting into liking ska. I wasn't into it when it was really popular, well because I was about 4-ish back then. But I've been listening to Reel Big Fish and Save Ferris and Mighty Mighty Bosstones ect. I really love how it's punk with a horn section. I want to create a ska band, me being lead trumpet of course. But whenever I ask someone if they would want to join(if I ever do actually start a band), they have no idea what ska is. I would love to hear your opinions on this and advice if you have any. :)
    "I play trumpet, what's your superpower?"
    "You woodwinds can kiss my brass"
    Lindsay Mae

  2. #2
    Moderator Utimate User rowuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006

    Re: Ska? Any Opinions?

    Putting a band together seldom has anything to do with music. You need real organizational talent, a never ending patience, very little pride as begging is a big part of getting commitments. If the people you ask are not to good in music history, tell them it is jazz. Everybody knows what that is
    Whenever I feel blue, I start breathing again.

  3. #3
    Mezzo Forte User brem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Quebec City, QC, Canada

    Re: Ska? Any Opinions?

    Or maybe you should change your approach. Go at ska/rocksteady/reaggae shows, make friends with people who like the music, and find musicians who know the scene, and want to start a band. Easier than you might think.
    NYTC Stage 1 California Light - Wedge 3C cup w/ Warburton 7 backbore mpc
    Bach Stradivarius Bb Model 37 * #124xxx (circa 1975) - Schilke 15B mpc
    Yamaha YFH-731 Flugelhorn #000xxx - Yamaha 14F4-GP mpc
    Conn Connquest 20A Cornet 1954

  4. #4
    New Friend
    Join Date
    May 2009
    rockford Illinois

    Re: Ska? Any Opinions?

    Come down to the chicago area, my friend wants to start one too. not to sure how that would work out though
    1989 getzen eterna 800 cornet
    getzen eterna 700 trumpet
    90's yamaha soprano
    willard Bryant "rex" cornet

  5. #5
    Forte User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Clarksburg, WV

    Re: Ska? Any Opinions?

    Ska is great!!

  6. #6
    Fortissimo User rettepnoj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009

    Re: Ska? Any Opinions?

    [ame=]YouTube - Skaravan (arena)[/ame]

    Jon Petter

    Inderbinen Alpha and Inderbinen Studie
    Monette Prana B6 S1 82
    Monette Prana B6L S1 82

    CarolBrass QT Custom (quartertone)

    Amrein AFL 8511 V flugelhorn
    Amrein Titanium 7FL

    "I'm hungry and need something to e
    at!" (a hungry) -Dizzy Gillespie

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions on D/Eb Trumpets?
    By AVB in forum Horns
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-24-2011, 08:44 PM
  2. Opinions Wanted
    By Wlfgng in forum TM Lounge
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-04-2008, 09:04 AM
  3. C Trumpet Opinions
    By nplotts1 in forum Horns
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 03-02-2008, 04:07 PM
  4. Need Opinions on two Horns...
    By trjeam in forum Horns
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-19-2007, 10:22 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26