Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Bwanabass
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Squeaking Certain Notes - Able to hit above and below them? in the General forums; Hello TM, This is my first post here since I've just found the site as of two days ago. I'm ...
    New Friend

Squeaking Certain Notes - Able to hit above and below them?

Hello TM,

This is my first post here since I've just found the site as of two days ago.

I'm a returning trumpet player who hasn't played since middle school. You could almost say I'm a new player aside from the fact I played 3 years total and went to all-state back then. I and a bunch of my other friends quit when a new assistant band director joined the program and took over our side of the band. I'm now in my 2nd year of college and returning. Better late than never, right? I've grown a strong love for music and wanted to pick my trumpet up again. Since this May, I've been taking lessons as well as playing each day for an hour or two. I've slowly progressed from not knowing what note is what to being able to hit a steady A over above-the-staff G. I'm hoping to join a huge marching band program at a college I'm transferring to. After that, I eventually hope to possibly work up to jazz play 2 years from now.