Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Vulgano Brother
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Starting again - advice on tension appreciated in the General forums; Hello! I am new to the TM forum and am looking forward to a wonderful experience. I played for about ...
    Lancaster, PA

Starting again - advice on tension appreciated

Hello! I am new to the TM forum and am looking forward to a wonderful experience. I played for about 40 years - college, community theater pit orchestras and community bands all the while taking lessons from a local pro even as an adult many years ago who was a student of CG. I have been away from the horn (for the most part) for about ten years. Early on i was a 'stretcher' and a 'pusher' as a result of being initially taught by a junior high band director. I did everything wrong, I swear it... and am still fighting those old habits. In high school the stretching stopped as I was turned to the Gordon method - focusing the muscles of the lip and face in and forward, deep breath, pedals and so on. I never had any endurance at all and my face always hurt as well as never getting above a high D consistently. To today's point - I never, ever played with that soft relaxed lip that is talked about. So.... now is the time to learn all over.