Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Stuck Bottom Valve Caps in the General forums; Hello, I'm new to the trumpet, had it for 2 weeks, and love practicing. Its a Getzen 900 Classic. I'm ...
    New Friend

Unhappy Stuck Bottom Valve Caps

I'm new to the trumpet, had it for 2 weeks, and love practicing. Its a Getzen 900 Classic. I'm getting familiar with the trumpet, checking how the valves and tuning slides work. I try to keep the horn clean and shiny. Everthing checks out (bought it used) but I cant seem to unscrew all three of the bottom valves. Do they even come off? I tried to unscrew them by hand and I am NOT going to use any tools to see if they do. I not too familiar trumpets, but is it standard to have removable bottom valve caps? They do have holes for water leakage, but it seems they would come off for better maintenance.

I recieved the horn in near mint condition. The previous owner was a pro horn player in the Pheonix area and kept in good condition. It just needed some polishing and slide grease. Took it to a tech and said it was fine.

So, do I need to force them open some how or are they fixed?

Ruben S.

Re: Stuck Bottom Valve Caps

I had stuck bottom caps on my Allegro. I sent it to the shop for chem clean and general repair. Seeing as how your horn is in great condition, I would take it to the shop to see if they could just loosen up the caps. It may even be one of those while you wait kind of things.

The Wide Brown Land

DO NOT FORCE anything on your Getzen - the 900 Classic is a beautiful horn and the bottom caps unscrew, usually quite easily. I would love to see some photos if you've a mind.