Trumpet Discussion Discuss Teaching the trumpet embouchure to a beginner in the General forums; I'm quite surprised that I couldn't find a post about this matter already. It seems like something that people would ...
    New Friend

Teaching the trumpet embouchure to a beginner

I'm quite surprised that I couldn't find a post about this matter already. It seems like something that people would have many different opinions about. Either way, I'm sure there are many methods out there that people like when teaching a complete beginner about how to form a trumpet embouchure, besides the old standby of "Mmmm, pooo" or "Mmmm, buzz" into the mpc.

My cooperating teacher in student teaching had the students make a buzzing sound without the mouthpiece first, because it's almost impossible to do so with loose corners or puffy cheeks/lips. Once the student was buzzing with only their lips, he would have them place the mouthpiece on the embouchure in the middle of the buzz, and then eventually rearticulate to teach them how to start the buzz with the mouthpiece on. Of course this was only used in the first few weeks in order to get the concept firm in the students mind (any longer and the students would develop stiff embouchures as well as stiff sounds).

I want to hear other ideas on this subject and why they are beneficial.

Re: Teaching the trumpet embouchure to a beginner

I've been teaching beginners for 33 years. I never have them start with lip buzzing and mpc buzzing. I start them right on the horn. First I play for them and have them watch me play. I then play a middle G and and tell them to "make that sound" Then I address breathing and blowing and posture. have them just play the G for a few mintues until I can tell thatb they feel comfortable with it. The I'll play some other easy notes and have them copy me. Then we take out the beginning book and start with the first lesson. This takes about 30 minutes. The rest of the lesson we go over their assignment.