Trumpet Discussion Discuss Trumpet Finish Restore/Cleaning in the General forums; Hello Everyone... This is my second post today, Im looking for a new trumpet instead of my Bach 1530 that ...
    New Friend

Trumpet Finish Restore/Cleaning

Hello Everyone... This is my second post today, Im looking for a new trumpet instead of my Bach 1530 that i've had ever since i started playing trumpet, but until I find a new trumpet I have to put up with my 1530... So what i wanted to know is how to fully clean a trumpet i've had my 1530 for about 5 years now and it was my uncles before that so despite the baths i gave it it still has gunk in the tubing. also it has millions of micro scratches and deeper scratches along with oxidation and chips in the lacquer and little pink/black specks. so i wanted to know if there is a product that will polish my finish and make it look almost new, and also a way on how to get the gunk build up out. Thanks

Re: Trumpet Finish Restore/Cleaning

pink spots...? sounds like red rot, especially on the lead pipe and tuning slide.
    Take it to a tech and they can ultrasonically clean the horn and polish it.
    Even so I doubt a 1530 is worth spending the money to refinish (strip, dent work, buff, re-lacquer)

Have it cleaned professionally, make any needed repairs, then may just strip it to raw brass and let it patina naturally. A stripped horn that has an even natural finish will look better than a horn that has bad lacquer.

If you strip it then you can hand polish it with a cream metal polish such as 'Flitz' and then wax with some Mother's Carnuba wax.

Fortissimo User
    Yorba Linda, CA

Re: Trumpet Finish Restore/Cleaning

There are two issues here: