Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree12Likes
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Trumpet playing in the morning in the General forums; Hi there all. I am looking for advice on my problem with playing the trumpet in the morning. I am ...
    New Friend

Trumpet playing in the morning

Hi there all. I am looking for advice on my problem with playing the trumpet in the morning. I am 17 and am reasonably competant with playing the trumpet. I am studying for a diploma in music performance. The problem is that when i wake up, and untill about mid day, i struggle to even get a note out. this really hinders my practice and i now only practice in the evening. I have been told on soo many occaisions that this is purely cycological. This irritates me because the problem is definatly not in my head. Every muscle in my face feels tight and horrible when i wake up and till about midday. No ammount of warm-ups can help. I have seen a doctor, which didnt help. I am off to college in a few months and am just worried that I wont be able to practice in the morning there. Is this problem that every trumpet player shares? or is it just me? Thanks

Heart of Dixie

Re: Trumpet playing in the morning

I'm the same way to an extent. Getting enough sleep, getting up a few hours before you have to play, not eating salty food before bedtime, and drinking a lot of water in the mornings will help.
    Shadrack likes this.
    Olde Towne Brass

Brass Band of Huntsville

Trumpet: 1976 Bach Stradivarius ML 43, Curry 3C.
    Cornet: 1993 Bach Stradivarius L 184G, Curry 3BBC.

Levittown , NY

I agree with Dale, drink plenty of water to help flush out all of the acids in your system, which will help reduce the swelling in your lips feet etc..

Pianissimo User

If I'm tight in the morning it's usually because I was playing hard and or late the day before-I just haven't had enought time to rest.

My approach is to:

1. Avoid playing late and hard into the hight