Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree18Likes
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Vibrato in the General forums; For those who don't know me, I've been playing trumpet for 8 years. I consider myself to be pretty adapt ...
    Pianissimo User

For those who don't know me, I've been playing trumpet for 8 years.
    I consider myself to be pretty adapt and versatile.
    Despite being admitted into several trumpet studios in my state, I decided to go into music education as a bassoonist.

Never the less, I still lust to become a better trumpetist and I regret not pursuing trumpet on a collegiate level.
    There are few trumpet issues that I have not been able to solve for myself. So why am I here?

I feel my vibrato is not being executed correctly. I am very used to woodwind vibrato but somehow it is not expressively enough for brass playing.
    I suppose my real question of help is "How should I be doing vibrato on trumpet?"

Huntsville, Texas

Re: Vibrato

Find one or several trumpet players that have, what you consider, great vibrato, and try to emulate it.

I personally don't like to use vibrato, but being in a studio, I don't get to choose what I do and don't like.
    "There are two sides to a trumpeter's personality: there is the one that lives only to lay waste to the woodwinds and strings, leaving them lying blue and lifeless along the swath of destruction that is a trumpeter's fury; then there's the dark side...." --Michael Stewart

Dayton, Ohio