Results 1 to 5 of 5
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Web Cam Lesson Opinions in the General forums; I'm thinking of trying these; any opinions?...
  1. #1
    New Friend JoeCool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Austin, TX

    Web Cam Lesson Opinions

    I'm thinking of trying these; any opinions?

  2. #2
    Piano User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008

    Re: Web Cam Lesson Opinions

  3. #3
    Moderator Utimate User rowuk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006

    Re: Web Cam Lesson Opinions

    All I have to say is: good luck!

    If you have worked with the teacher in person before, maybe they know enough to really help over the web. If your acquaintance is virtual from the beginning, so is the lesson.

    Part of real lessons are unseen, unsaid and perhaps subconciously picked up by both parties. The web is a pretty big filter as only a fraction of the sonic and visual clues are transmitted due to resolution and bandwidth. The power of a good player standing next to you can't be "virtualized".

    Good luck!
    Whenever I feel blue, I start breathing again.

  4. #4
    New Friend Rocketman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004

    Re: Web Cam Lesson Opinions

    Two things...first, it depends a great deal on the teacher. I personally know of a great teacher who can effectively teach over regular telephone and no video at all. As far as I know, he is the only one that can pull that off and that took him many, many years and thousands of lessons to perfect. Second, the Skype connection we have today is a phenomenal resource. For less than $200 (and a good broadband connection, of course), one can view video in high definition and listen to audio in high-fi. I use this method myself and it is just like sitting in front of the student. In case you're interested, I use a Blue Snowball USB mic and a Logitech Quickcam webcam. In addition, Skype-to-Skype calls are FREE anywhere in the world. I'm amazed more people aren't aware of it. IMO, it would be a huge mistake to not take advantage of this technology. --Ken B.
    GHP BRASS...The right stuff for trumpeters
    Please visit our website:

  5. #5
    Fortissimo User TrumpetMD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008

    Re: Web Cam Lesson Opinions

    I think Rowuk and Rocketman bring up good points. In the end, I think it depends on what you're goals are. I have a local private teacher. I also particpate in web cam lessons every few months with another teacher. I use Skype over a high-speed connection.

    For me, the virtual lessons seem to work best for occasional instruction that complements my regular lessons. My online teacher is not local, so the web cam is the only option. But I want to work with him, because I feel he has expertise that my regular teacher does not have, and his approach seems to work well with me.

    I'm not sure about others' experiences. But if you looking for regular lessons, I think the web cam approach may not be ideal. As Rowuk stated (even with the best equipment), "only a fraction of the sonic and visual clues are transmitted". However, for complementary instruction, I've found that online lessons work well for me.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Opinions on D/Eb Trumpets?
    By AVB in forum Horns
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 11-24-2011, 08:44 PM
  2. Ska? Any Opinions?
    By LindsayMae in forum Trumpet Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-18-2009, 07:10 AM
  3. Opinions Wanted
    By Wlfgng in forum TM Lounge
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-04-2008, 09:04 AM
  4. Need Opinions on two Horns...
    By trjeam in forum Horns
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-19-2007, 10:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26