Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss When to retire in the General forums; Hi everyone, I am a mature trumpet / cornet player (67) and have been playing since I was 10. I ...
    New Friend
    Peterborough England

When to retire

Hi everyone, I am a mature trumpet / cornet player (67) and have been playing since I was 10. I have always enjoyed playing and am heartened that there so many of you out there who are hooked too.
    I have been a reasonable amateur player all my life with a tone that has been commented on many times however in the last few years my playing has been a bit hit and miss even though I made an effort to practice more - I aim to practice at least an hour a day.
    Lately I have been a guest player in a local club 4 or 5 times and can only describe my performance as terrible. My attack is so vague especially in the upper register also I notice the general speed and clarity has dropped off. This is not helped by performance nerves which have become worse as I've got older. I can still play to a reasonable standard when practising alone but even so I can't manage pieces that I could play a few years ago.
    Is this the end?
    I will always try to squeeze out a few notes when alone but can no longer face the disappointment of failing in public.
    Looking at great players of the past (of which I am not one) some stopped playing - Louis Armstrong for one - other continued right up to the end seemingly at full volume and with undiminished range.
    I would appreciate your comments and views on this, I am not too depressed as unlike most of the worlds population I have at least experienced the satisfaction, exhileration and the sheer joy trumpet playing can sometimes bring.
    Most of all I wish you all immense pleasure in brass playing.

Re: When to retire

The trumpet/cornet is not your problem. It sounds like you haven't even identified the problem. That would be my start instead of thinking about quitting.