Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Trumpet Discussion Discuss Your 'special' place in the General forums; I am so thrilled to be taking up the trumpet, all my life I've been a pianist and have never ...
    New Friend

Your 'special' place

I am so thrilled to be taking up the trumpet, all my life I've been a pianist and have never had the joy of playing my instrument in the wilderness.

I want so badly to find a mountaintop, cliff, forest grove, or pond to play my trumpet on. I live in the city, but the area outside of the city is more suburban and not too far off (20 minutes). Have any of you ever done this?

I am going to start driving around to find 'my spot' after the roads clear up here from the ice.

Forte User
    Near Portland, OR.

Re: Your 'special' place

I did this a few times and believe it or not was a little disappointed, because my sound felt so tiny in the wide open! Some places give you decent sound, they're rare. The best sound I ever experienced was in an airplane hangar! Not the best if you seek the great outdoors...

Selmer Radial, Bb.
    Yamaha YTR4420E, C.
    1930 Couesnon cornet

A mind that masters the breath
    Creates strength (Lao-Tzu).

Monroe Ct.

On my pack deck until the neighbors complain

Mezzo Piano User

I guess I never really thought of the experience you describe until I read your post, I just took it for granted. I live in the mountains of Colorado and as such all I have to do is walk out my front door. My acreage is located about 1/2 a mile up the side of a mountain, the view straight across my front yard is a 750' high bluff. I sit somewhat in a small valley with small rises on the other three sides. I guess this makes sort of an outdoor amphitheater. The sound is fabulous. I have never gotten the tinny feeling someone else described and on the days the wind is just right neighbors a mile away say they heard me practicing.