Trumpet Discussion Discuss Zeus? or Bach? in the General forums; Hi, I'm a foreign exchange student in Houston and this is my 7th month in America. I got into the ...
    New Friend

Zeus? or Bach?

Hi, I'm a foreign exchange student in Houston and this is my 7th month in America. I got into the school band last December, and chose trumpet.
    I'm about to buy a trumpet and planning to play trumpet my lifelong.
    I asked my band directer for trumpet and his buddy is gonna bring a Bach trumpet, (he didn't tell me which model) and it's gonna be $500.
    I guess it's just a student or semi pro-model like tr300 or tr200.

And about month ago, I first heard about Zeus.
    I've heard companies like Bach, Yamaha, Jupiter..., and on and on before, but not Zeus.
    And now I see many testimonials of Zeus trumpet, especially Guarnerius,
    and all the guys says great trumpet for great price. The trumpets are all handcrafted at Elkhart and it seems that the company really care about there trumpet.
    Now, I got only $700 so I can't get professional model but my buddy in my country told me to get low professional model from zeus. ztr750 was the model number I guess.
    So I'm now thinking about both trumpets...bach for $500...or zeus for $650..
    I think Bach is not the Bach in early years...and this unfamiliar horn, zeus, really is pulling me. How you guys think?
    Should I spend $500 for Bach or spend about $150 more and get
    Hi...I'm a foreign exchange student in Houston right now...

Lafayette, LA, USA

Re: Zeus? or Bach?

The 200 and 300 models are NOT semi-pro level horns. They are very much beginner to intermediate level horns. Save your money and buy a used pro level horn, and remember that there are a lot of great horns out there besides Bach and Yamaha. Play as many as you can and then decide what is best for you.
    C - Harrelson 750 Modified Bach Strad
    Picc - Schilke P5-4
    Flugel - Kanstul ZKF1525
    Bb - Bach Strad 180ML-37