Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Orchestra / Solo / Chamber Music Discuss Orchestral repertoire: upper limit? in the General forums; Hi there I'm not really a brass player (I'm a pianist/bass guitarist/double bassist and a self-taught trombone & trumpet hack), ...
    New Friend

Orchestral repertoire: upper limit?

Hi there

I'm not really a brass player (I'm a pianist/bass guitarist/double bassist and a self-taught trombone & trumpet hack), but I hope you'll help out a poor n00b.

I'm a student composer doing research for a seminar on the trumpet for Orchestration class, and specifically the question of how high you can safely write for the orchestral trumpet player, using examples from modern orchestral literature. (I'm specifically looking at writing for the trumpet section of the modern symphony orchestra, not a soloist in a concerto, not a jazz/big band player, not a wind orchestra player, not a brass band/quintet player, not in a solo work for trumpet).

While it may seem like I'm some poor immature schlub obsessed with the high range of the trumpet, there is a great disparity in range between what is expected of 1st trumpet in a symphony orchestra and, for example, lead trumpet in a big band - one of my questions is why this is so. For the purposes of narrowing down research, I'm limiting myself to American composers (though I'm interested in hearing of other works and trumpet parts too).

Adopting the C Trumpet as the orchestral standard (though fully aware of differing transpositions and that in the main you can't physically play higher on a C Trumpet than a Bb trumpet), it seems there is an upper ceiling of C6, and composers are too scared to write above it. Adler's Study of Orchestration tells me "Many trumpeters are able to player higher than the range given here, but it is risky to write above [C6]."

I've got some questions:
    - What are some renowned examples of taxing trumpet repertoire, or examples of archetypal sustained high playing?