Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Jazz / Commercial Discuss real book/fake book myth and facts in the General forums; Hi, As a Jazz musician I have one fake book. It is Hal Leonard published "real little jazz fake book" ...
    Piano User

real book/fake book myth and facts

Hi,
    As a Jazz musician I have one fake book. It is Hal Leonard published "real little jazz fake book"
    It is great and it has 600 standards in it. But it lacks some. And now its starts to bug me, because it lacks:
    *on a green dolphin street
    *days of wine and roses
    *perhaps perhaps
    just to name some. But there are lot more actually that is missing. How come that is the only real/fake book available.
    I mean there is another it is called latin rael book (also Hal Leonard) nd it has Perhaps perhaps (quisaz quisaz) bit it lacks others.
    I was in Paris lately and went to music shops and they told me, noooo we do not have those kind of books. They sounded like I was asking for photocopied sheet music.
    So I guess it is not that off actually. And I searched elswhere, but I cannot find it, it is so hard. I found only that only that hal leonard that I already have and latin real book.
    So what is it? I persume it is not completely legal or what? By my approximation there are at least 1000 standards out there, do they have legal rights only on those 600.
    I also went to find green dolphin street on the web, but couldnt find it. Google found something but on dodgy sites that I do not trust, so I didnt even open.
    And what is the difference between fake book and real book.
    //I am not interested in bB editions because I always think, talk and read in C, so bB would just confuse me.

New Friend

Re: real book/fake book myth and facts

In my experience you'll never find just one book with all the tunes you want. You need a library of these books and you'll still end up not having what you're looking for.

Pianissimo User

I have this one: