Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Mouthpieces / Mutes / Other Discuss Monette Recommend in the Equipment forums; I've been playing trumpet for almost 9 years now, and I've always used a 7C. It's a fine mouthpiece but ...
    New Friend

Monette Recommend

I've been playing trumpet for almost 9 years now, and I've always used a 7C. It's a fine mouthpiece but I'd like to move up and try something new. I was looking at Monette's website and I'm interested in the B7F. I get a fine tone and range from 7C, so I'd say, from what I read, that this would be a good choice. I came on here to see if someone with more knowledge could weigh in..
    I'm mostly playing jazz, along with some smaller brass ensemble work.

Re: Monette Recommend

The only real way to know if it is a good choice is to try it.
    After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music. ~Aldous Huxley
    If at first you don't succeed, keep on suckin' until you do suck-a-seed. ~ Clark Terry

I play on Monette mouthpieces and I can say I am very pleased with them. The sound is superior to any other mouthpiece I have ever played.

Here is the description of the mouthpiece:
    B7F This is a versatile, slightly funnel-shaped mouthpiece that is very efficient. The rim is slightly flat, with a medium inner rim "bite." Great for players who are used to playing a 7C and want a more comfortable mouthpiece that sounds full and exciting and will definitely help their upper register. Can be used in almost any playing situation, including both small group jazz and some lead trumpet applications. Designed for jazz legend Art Farmer.

Sounds like a logical choice to me. Good luck.
    Last edited by jdizzle; 08-08-2009 at 04:52 PM. Reason: typos
    "If you don't hear it, it won't come out your horn."

Mezzo Forte User

If you're interested, call the Monette shop. They're happy to answer questions and do their best to suggest what might work for you.

Hi Franisco,