Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Mouthpieces / Mutes / Other Discuss What brand of mute should I buy? in the Equipment forums; Hi everyone I'm fairly new with mutes. I used my school's HB stonelined straight and cup mutes for a while ...
    New Friend

What brand of mute should I buy?

Hi everyone

I'm fairly new with mutes. I used my school's HB stonelined straight and cup mutes for a while because I didn't need mutes in my repetoire all that often. Then, a few weeks ago, I bought a Vacchiano straight mute because more and more of my repetoire required mutes. The Vacchiano is nice. I used it for my regional honour band (but still used my school's HB cup ) A lot of guys, not just from that honour band, but in my city's youth symphony orchestra and also my school have some really nice mutes. So now I'm looking for a solid straight and cup mute so that I'm not the odd one out anymore (preferably the same brand) I've been doing my homework and looking things up on the internet.

Apparently the Jo-Ral Tri Tone Cup is preferred by many, however followed closely by the Denis Wick Adjustable Cupe. (Should I get copper bottomed mutes? Windy City is the only brand with copper bottom cup mutes then...)

As for straight mutes, all brand carry brass, aluminum and copper bottomed mutes. Again Jo-Ral and Denis Wick are preferred, however the Tom Crown brand is very present.

Initially, I was all for the Denis Wick straight and cup combination, but then I saw Jo-Ral, Windy City etc. Also, I don't know whether or not to get copper bottomed or aluminum bottomed mutes. Thanks for your feedback and I'm sorry for my lack of mute knowledge. (If it helps, here is some background information: I'm a fairly advanced player, hoping to go into music in university, I don't often play jazz and I use a Yamaha Xeno. Please don't hate on my trumpet preference. )

Pianissimo User

Re: What brand of mute should I buy?