Horns Discuss Colored Trumpets in the Equipment forums; Hi Manny I was wondering about something. So many Jazz and Classical 'Purist' Horns llike Monette, Eclipse etc are usually ...
    Piano User

Colored Trumpets

Hi Manny

I was wondering about something. So many Jazz and Classical 'Purist' Horns llike Monette, Eclipse etc are usually done in gold or raw brass. I had the GREAT fortune of seeing Miles Davis back on Valentines Day back in 1990 before he died in 1991, which is why I started playing. His sound, emotional content etc was UNREAL. What I also LOVE is that Miles had his Martin Committees Laquered in Various Colors, mostly RED, BLACK and GREEN. Martin (as do a lot of student trumpet makers) make a RED Laquered Miled Davis Tribute horn, one of which I am very happy to own Heres the question...I know that a lot of the exotic horn makers, specially the $10,000 Monettes say that laquer ruins the sound of these horns, but why is it then that we dont see more Pro horns in the $2000 range that have more colors? I know that the student horns that are EVERYWHERE on Ebay that sell for $100 to $200 have every color of the rainbow, but why not the $1000 to $2000 range? I love playing my Red Horn specially when I busk on the streets cause it is a real eye catcher and red is a great color that makes everyone feel nice Thoughts?

Rick AKA Trumpet Man

Piano User
    The football team at my university is the Crimson Tide and I always thought it would be cool to have 45 crimson lacquered trumpets in the band.

However, I would never take one to a gig. I can also imagine that they would look pretty crappy compared to a regular lacquer or silver when the colored lacquer starts getting scratched.
    --Matt--

Utimate User
    "why is it then that we don't see more Pro horns in the $2000 range that have more colors?"

Probably for the same reason we don't have streetwalkers at orchestra concerts.

ML

Piano User