Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree25Likes
Horns Discuss Does a reversed leadpipe allow you to hit high notes easier? in the Equipment forums; I've been playing trumpet for about 2 years with my school`s Yamaha YTR 2335, and have been wanting to buy ...
    New Friend

Does a reversed leadpipe allow you to hit high notes easier?

I've been playing trumpet for about 2 years with my school`s Yamaha YTR 2335, and have been wanting to buy a trumpet of my own for about 6 months now. One of my friends in my jazz band has a Schilke MII and after trying it out, I was able to hit two notes above my usual range on my Yamaha(on MY mouthpiece), and the horn just felt so much more responsive. The Schilke has a reversed leadpipe and is also silver plated. I'm not sure whether the leadpipe or silver plating helped my playing. Any similar experiences?

First post on TM!

Thanks!
    Leslie Colonello likes this.

Re: Does a reversed leadpipe allow you to hit high notes easier?

I have a reverse leadpipe, but I suspect that your experience is quite subjective, and even if not, it is a question of overall design, not just the reverse leadpipe.

BTW, welcome on board
    Dennis78 and True Tone like this.

Amara Music Academy
    Go on vacation, learn to play an instrument
    Spada Bach B flat 72, leadpipe 2L/DWMM1.5C
    Spada Bach C 256, leadpipe 2LQ/DWMM1.5C
    A Besson Sovereign 928 modified by Spada

Life is change. Growth is optional. Choose wisely.

Hi PlatinumPiece,

Welcome to TM,
    The reverse leadpipe does 2 things, it moves the groove that you get when you move the Main tuning slide out, further down the trumpet, the leadpipe has an uninterrupted flow for another couple of inches. The second thing, is that it is easier for the trumpet manufacturer to make.