Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree22Likes
Horns Discuss King Cornet in the Equipment forums; I am just learning to play the trumpet, just basic stuff at the moment but I can knock out a ...
    New Friend

King Cornet

I am just learning to play the trumpet, just basic stuff at the moment but I can knock out a mean version of twinkle twinkle little star. My 8 year old daughter is wanting to learn with me but is struggling with the size of the trumpet. I don't want to buy her own instrument as yet because as 8 year old son tend to do, she may decide it's not for her next week. My plan therefore is to buy a cornet as i fancy one anyway and she can practice on that.

Anyway in my ignorance I was hoping for some adevice. Don't want to spend a lot but also don't want to buy a piece of crap. I fancy a king cornet and have seen a couple of seconds hand ones that appeal. A king cornet opus 7 (which unfortunately is not in the original case) and a king cornet 605. Both are are round 150/200. Any thoughts or advice on these or any others welcome. Thanks in advance

Forte User

Re: King Cornet

Welcome to TrumpetMaster!

The 600 Series Kings are student horns. Intonation is passable, sound is a bit bright, but they are sturdy and durable. The Opus 7 was top of the line when it was produced, and the sound is delicious. Intonation can be close to irredeemable. It is built well, but the factory neglected to do a lot of the expected finishing touches one would expect to find in a professional quality horn. These problems can be overcome (See Brassreview.com).

IMO if the 605 and the Opus 7 are in comparable excellent condition, the 605 is overpriced, and the Opus 7 is a fair deal. I would not put an Opus 7 in the hands of an 8-year-old. Any 600 series would serve you both well at this point in your development, but I'd search for a better price than the range you have given.
    Dillon Bb pocket trumpet
    Selmer Bundy tenor trombone
    shofar
    Casio CTK-518 keyboard