Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Horns Discuss The L.A. Benge MLP....comments in the Equipment forums; What a great horn this is. Free blowing and with a fiery sound up high. It takes some getting used ...

The L.A. Benge MLP....comments

What a great horn this is. Free blowing and with a fiery sound up high. It takes some getting used to....it can feel a bit sharp in the lower register if you don't relax....but it produces a great sound with a unique character. MLP players chime in with your thoughts....have you made any modifications?....results?.....

Re: The L.A. Benge MLP....comments

I just got my 1965 Burbank MLP today. Excellent horn. It's funny I've been playing MLPs for 30 years. Lately, I've been playing a 1972 LA Claude Gordon, which I just feel is too large for me. However, it's interesting, when I played the MLP today it felt a little stuffy to me (because I've been playing the larger CG), but it doesn't wear me out to play. Man, I just picked it up, no warmup or anything, 2 octave chromatic scale easy as pie. I LOVE these horns....

bigtiny

Quote Originally Posted by bigtiny View Post
    Man, I just picked it up, no warmup or anything, 2 octave chromatic scale easy as pie. I LOVE these horns....

bigtiny
    ....from High C to Triple C right?
    Selmer 80J in Matte
    Monette STC-1 Prana B4 S3

Quote Originally Posted by hubnub View Post
    ....from High C to Triple C right?
    Nah....I stopped trying that stuff when I left high school.....some guys have high note chops, I don't.....but it's okay, I've got all the range I need.

bigtiny

Pianissimo User

i love the one ive been playin, my dad is the only owner since '76 i think, and i would almost give up my new stage one for it.

i do have a question about benge horns and im gald this came up. did maynard ever play benge, ive got a friend who plays a 50s benge mlp in perfect condition that he claims was a maynard benge. did he in fact play benge?

Quote Originally Posted by bigpapajosh View Post